Novel 2 Spoiler Dump

Because easymodo is down. Spoilers go to ep 18.

Digest version:

Ok, so a summary of what we’ve learned so far from the spoilers:

About Tabuki and Yuri’s relationship:
They’re both using each other, but Yuri seems to have thought she was the only one doing the using. She gets mad when she finds out.
Tabuki: “In the end, we’re nothing but a fake family. We’re just using each other.”
It’s been mentioned vaguely a couple times that they separate at some point, but I don’t know the context.

About Tabuki’s backstory:
• Tabuki played piano and he worked really hard at it
• His mother was one of those crazy parents who thinks you’re worthless unless you’re the best
• At some point she gives him a couple of birds because “Human friends will only interfere with your piano.”
• She gets remarried and Tabuki gets a younger step brother who happens to be a musical genius
• Even after he finally gets first place, his little brother has already far out paced him and his mother stops loving him
• He gives up the piano{I think, I might be reading this wrong} . And then his mother lovingly says “If only you hadn’t been injured.”{note: no one has mentioned what caused the injury yet afaik, it seems that the injury to his hand is part of the reason he sucks as piano though}
• But, those kind words were meaningless and Tabuki ends up in the Child Broiler

About Tabuki in the Child Broiler:
Tabuki gets sent to the Child Broiler. It seems like it’s a place where unwanted children go {I got the impression from the discussion that it’s probably a place like the Hole in the Sky Annex}.
The children in the Broiler are going to be turned into “transparent beings” by the adults that work there. This appears to happen by dropping the children off a conveyer belt into fire.
Tabuki seems to have his pet birds with him in the Broiler and when he’s going to be turned into a “transparent being” the only thing he can think of is letting the birds, at least, escape.{from what I understand they do but Tabuki’s basically fucked himself in the process}
Momoka appears somewhere in the middle of this and grabs Tabuki’s hand to prevent him from falling into the fire, the adults burn her hand to get her to let go but she doesn’t.
Tabuki then wakes up outside with the Child Broiler building off in the distance.

About… things that probably happen next week:
It seems that for whatever reason, Tabuki decides to take revenge against the Takakuras for Momoka’s death. He kidnaps Himari and uses her to press Kanba for information about Kenzan’s whereabouts. He threatens to throw Himari from a gondola {now this might be an elevator car actually, because lol engrish, but idk how the fuck you’d throw someone from an elevator, so take it however you want}, but Kanba genuinely doesn’t seem to know anything.

Himari just wants the punishment to end.
“The Takakura family has no choice but to be embraced by hatred and anger.”
“I always felt that someday, we’d be punished like this.”
“And if that’s our inevitable fate, please find a way to punish me instead of Kanba and Shoma.”
“Oh god, please just end it all already.”
“To spare Kan and Sho from punishment, I will shoulder it all myself.”
“My life has been long enough. I had a happy life. So I want Kanba to live his own life.” and she tries to jump {to kill herself}, and even though Kanba is wrecking both his body and soul, he shouts, “But I /want/ to live for your sake!”

Then Tabuki goes, “Ringo, don’t end up like me.”

About Ringo and Shoma:
“I have to be stronger too. No matter how unfair it might seem, if this is our fate, then I have to accept it and become stronger. I dried my tears on my sleeve and stopped lying to myself. I’m never going to run away again, not from fate and not from Oginome.”

MSC stuff:
• Kanba gets jealous when he thinks Himari’s making a sweater for Sanetoshi but it turns out she’s making sweaters for Kanba and Shoma.
• Sanetoshi’s medicine seems like it needs to be administered regularly within a certain timeframe.
• Masako gets a new gun (maybe).

Raw post TLs:

• Apparently the medicine Sanetoshi’s giving Himari has to be readministered within a certain time period or it puts the patient’s life in danger?
When Tabuki kidnapped Himari, there was a sense or urgency about whether she’d get her evening dose in time.
• When Tabuki has Himari hostage, he calls out Kanba and seems to be pressing him for details regarding Kenzan’s whereabouts.
Even though Tabuki threatens to drop Himari from the gondola{I’m gonna guess there’s ferris wheel shenanigans involved here} as he interrogates Kanba, Kanba genuinely doesn’t seem to know where his father is.
• The weapon Masako uses is described as a “repurposed gattling gun”
Is she upgrading to that smaller gun she had in the first opening? Or is she going to keep using the sling shot in the anime?
• The birds in the first opening with Tabuki are probably gifts his mother gave him because, “human friends will only interfere with your piano.”
Even in the Child Broiler he had a bird cage, and when he was in peril of grave bodily harm, the only thing he could think of was letting at least the birds escape, but the cage was rusted shut and would not open. Tabuki nearly plunged into the flames at the end of the conveyer belt to soften the metal with the heat and open the cage before jumping off.
• Then from out of nowhere, Tabuki’s classmate Momoka appears in the Child Broiler with him and suggests that they escape.
She desperately tries to hold onto Tabuki’s hand after he fell into the fire from the conveyer belt.
Even after “adults” in work clothes burned Momoka’s hand, she didn’t let go and when Tabuki suddenly came to, they had escaped.

Ok, so someone started asking about whether this means the Child Broiler is a concrete/real place and someone else responded with some information compiled from people who got the book yesterday. From what I understand the quotes are quotes from the book:

“When I came to and opened my eyes, I was sitting here, but I have no recollection of how I got here.” That sort of thing. It’s not really clear whether it’s a dream world or a near-death experience related to suicide? or something.

Tabuki wakes up in the Child Broiler sitting on the floor, clutching his knees––> Momoka appears “We should go home!”
–>”But I have home to go back to. I’m worthless because I can’t play piano.” they argue for a while
–>Some adults appear in jumpsuits, “Alright everyone, we’re going to turn you all into transparent* beings now!” {* Seito Sakakibara reference most likely}
“It’s nothing to be scared of, you’re just going to never amount to anything!”
–>The floor starts to move like a conveyer belt. At the edge is a sharp drop and the children fall into the fire one by one.
–>Momoka grabs Tabuki’s hand to prevent him from falling –> the adults burn Momoka’s hand to try to make her let go
–>[Tabuki?] thinks he/they are falling but the next minute he wakes up and opens his eyes to see the blue sky above him and the Child Broiler building off in the distance

Later, the reason Momoka falls in love with Tabuki:
While [Tabuki] practices frantically in the music room even though he thinks his little brother is much better than him,
[Momoka says] “I could see the music glistening as it spilled out of the classroom window and into the hall and the garden. It was incredibly beautiful.”
“It doesn’t matter if your hand can’t play anymore, because what I heard was your heart.”
Or something like that.

Hey, how ’bout an out of context page.

The guy who posted it said “I’m sure the shipper faggots will love this”

Penguin 1 and 3 rolled around and crashed into each other, then they sat motionless, dumbfounded.

“But why!” She shouted at no one in particular. My stomach was boiling. “I don’t want anything [special]. Just, like normal.” I couldn’t hold back my tears as Oginome clung to my back. My back felt warm and her tears were soaking through my clothes. I could smell her scent.

“I’m not like that. There’s no way I could ever hate you guys!”

The powerful warmth of the arms wrapping around me from behind melted my heart just a little.

“I don’t think sad things or happy things are pointless. If it’s fate, surely they all have meaning. Accepting that has given me strength. So–” Even though I’d rejected her so strongly, Oginome said that to me. “So, don’t cry.”

I have to be stronger too. No matter how unfair it might seem, if this is our fate, then I have to accept it and become stronger. I dried my tears on my sleeve and stopped lying to myself. I’m never going to run away again, not from fate and not from Oginome.

About Yuri and Tabuki:

Yuri is using Tabuki and doesn’t love him, but when she finds out that Tabuki is using her too she gets mad, lololol

“In the end, we’re nothing but a fake family. We’re just using each other.”
[Tabuki] says, so maybe they’re trying to contrast “real” families.

[Himari] when she’s kidnapped by Tabuki [thinks/says]:
“The Takakura family has no choice but to be embraced by hatred and anger.”
“I always felt that someday, we’d be punished like this.”
“And if that’s our inevitable fate, please find a way to punish me instead of Kanba and Shoma.”
“Oh god, please just end it all already.”

A related chunk:

It was so sad when Himari prayed to god, “To spare Kan and Sho from punishment, I will shoulder it all myself.”
And then she says, “My life has been long enough. I had a happy life. So I want Kanba to live his own life.” as she tries to jump {to kill herself}, and even though Kanba is wrecking both his body and soul, he shouts, “But I /want/ to live for your sake!”

Related to ^:

Himari is saved.
Kanba shouts to Himari, “I /want/ to live for your sake!”
Tabuki: “Ringo, don’t end up like me.”

Ok, found a log of the previous thread (I missed the last 300 posts) and I was right that’s where most of the basic details came out.

About Tabuki:

• Tabuki played piano and he worked really hard at it
• His mother was one of those crazy parents who thinks you’re worthless unless you’re the best
• She gets remarried and Tabuki gets a younger step brother who happens to be a musical genius
• Even after he finally gets first place, his little brother has already far out paced him and his mother stops loving him
• He gives up the piano{I think, I might be reading this wrong} . And then his mother lovingly says “If only you hadn’t been injured.”
• But, those kind words were meaningless and Tabuki ends up in the Child Broiler

Found another piece:
We’re getting another Survival Strategy next week:

Kanba asks the Princess of the Crystal if the Penguin Drum is the diary and she responds “That’s classified”
And that if they neglect the Penguin Drum, “Someone in your family will be punished severely.”
“You two/all will cause harm to befall the one you care about most.” She says.

A little bit about Himari:

So, after Himari finishes the scarves she starts on a sweater. It seems like it’s for Sanetoshi and Kanba gets mad.
Even though it was an intentional mislead, it totally got me.
Anyway, Himari secretly reveals to Ringo that she’s knitting sweaters for Kanba and Shoma.

—–

On a tangent that I’ll probably make a proper post about later, here’s the letter Sakakibara wrote that “transparent being” thing probably comes from:

I happened to turn on the TV just before heading out earlier and I saw a news caster misread my name as “Onibara.”

Misreading a person’s name is an act of extreme derision. The letters written on the page aren’t some sort of code or riddle or ateji, it is my pure, unadulterated, truth. I had that name from the second I came into existence and what I wanted to do was already determined. But, regretfully, I have no nationality. Up until now, no one called me by my name. If I had remained me since I was born, I probably wouldn’t have gone out of my way to do something like leaving a severed head at the middle school gate.

When I thought to try it, I managed to enjoy being a murderer without anyone noticing. The reason I explicitly attracted the attention of society was that, I am now and always will be a transparent* being and at the very least I would like to be recognized as a real human even if only in the midst of your collective imagination. And at the same time, I don’t want you to forget my revenge against the society which created compulsory education, that compulsory education which produced a transparent being such as myself.
{*透明 means transparent both literally and in the sense of “transparent government” it has undertones of purity and lucidity, I suspect he means it primarily in the literal sense}

However, if it was simply revenge, I would have simply dropped the heavy load burdening me thus far and accomplished nothing.

Thus, I tried to consult with the only other transparent being in the world like myself.

When I did, he [said], “If you want to get revenge that has merit and is not pitiable, you should combine the murder that was your hobby, your raison d’etre, and your objective and enjoy your revenge as a game, you should transform your hobby from murder to revenge. I think, if you do that, you’ll create a new world just for yourself where you have nothing to gain and nothing to lose, no more and no less.”

I tried acting in line with what he said and started the murder game.

But, I still don’t know why I like to kill. I can’t really say anything but that it’s something I was born with. I am only released from this habitual hatred and am at peace when I am killing. Only the pain of others can soothe my pain.

Final comments

I think you’ll more or less understand the text written on this page, but I have more of an obsession with my own existence than your average person. Therefore, I cannot tolerate the misreading of my name and the defiling of my very existence. From what I’ve surmised of the police’s current actions, no matter how I look at it, even though it bothers me to the core, I don’t think they’re misrepresenting me on purpose. They’re not trying to crush my existence are they?

I’ve bet my life on this game. If I’m caught, I’ll probably be hung. So, while I won’t ask the police to bet their lives too, I want them to come after me with more rage and tenacity. From here on, if you misread my name one more time, or do something similarly apathetic, in one week I’ll smash three vegetables {tl note: vegetables means people}. You’ve made a grave mistake if you think I’m some young criminal who can only kill children.

––I posess the ability to kill a single human twice––

P.S. In case the letter I put in the head’s mouth is rendered illegible by rain or something else, I’ve included a copy of its contents with this letter.

10 comments
  1. Mouse said:

    Haro, thanks so much!
    Have you seen anything from the novel on what Yuri’s father did to her – sexual abuse or sexual+physical (some creepy sort of plastic surgery) abuse?

    • Reaper said:

      I don’t think we will ever get to know.
      Ikuhara certainly understands, that some questions are meant to have no answers. And it’s very wise of him.

  2. kimalysong said:

    I’m one of those “shipper faggots” I guess because I was definitely thrilled with the Ringo/Shouma spoiler.

    And I am glad to see Shouma get over his “issues” sooner rather than later. :)

  3. Belle said:

    damn, i wanna see more shouma/ringo stuff…

    oh well, will have to wait then…

  4. Mouse said:

    Re: Novel translations

    Good Haro is SO GOOOOD!

  5. LOLNOPE said:

    Lol, silly little shipper fags, there is no Ringo/Shoma, it’s all in your heads.

    • Yo said:

      @there is no Ringo/Shoma

      No offence but, you must be watching the wrong series.

      • cagalli said:

        there is no Himari/Shoma And there is no Himari/Kanba
        Seems Himari love them as her brother

    • try again said:

      boy do u look dumb now

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers